New and Renewed Members at the European Courts


The choice of who gets to stay, and who has to go, has been made at the European Court of Justice and the Court of First Instance; on 6 October 2006, the mandate of thirteen judges and four Advocates General will expire.

The Representatives of the Member States whose mandates have been renewed until 6 October 2012 are:

  • Mr Peter Jann,
  • Mr Christiaan Timmermans,
  • Sir Konrad Schiemann,
  • Mr Jiri Malenovsky,
  • Mr Antonio Tizzano,
  • Mr Jose? Narciso da Cunha Rodrigues,
  • Mr Pranas Kuris,
  • Mr George Arestis,
  • Mr Anthony Borg Barthet and
  • Mr Egils Levits
  • Mr Paolo Mengozzi (as Advocate General)

Four new Representatives were appointed to the ECJ:

  • Ms Pernilla Lindh, from the Court of First Instance (replacing Mr Stig von Bahr),
  • Mr Jean-Claude Bonichot (replacing Mr Jean-Pierre Puissochet),
  • Mr Thomas von Danwitz (replacing Ms Ninon Colneric),
  • Mr Yves Bot, appointed Advocate General (replacing Mr Philippe Le?ger.)

In addition, and applying the system of rotation of Advocates General by alphabetical order of the Member States, Mr Ján Mazàk was appointed in place of Mr Leendert A. Geelhoed and Ms Verica Trstenjak was appointed in place of Ms Christine Stix-Hackl.

At the Court of First Instance, Mr Nils Wahl and Mr Miro Prek were appointed as Judges at the Court of First Instance of the European Communities, replacing Ms Pernilla Lindh and Ms Verica Trstenjak, respectively.

The successors will be sworn into office on Friday 6 October 2006 at 17:00 in the main court room. After the formal sitting, the Judges of the Court of Justice will elect in camera, from among their number, their President for a term of three years.

The full press release can be found here.

Update: Following the formal sitting on 6 October 2006, a press release has been issued by the ECJ with brief biographies of the new judges.

On 9 October 2006, following the partial replacement of the members of the Court of Justice, Mr Vassilios Skouris, who has been President of the institution since 7 October 2003, was re-elected to perform the duties of President of the Court of Justice of the European Communities for the period from 9 October 2006 to 6 October 2009. A short biography of the President can be found here.