JPIL-SMU Virtual Conference on Conflicts of Jurisdiction on 23 to 24 June 2022 and postponement of the biennial JPIL Conference until 2023

image_pdfimage_print

The Journal of Private International Law and the Singapore Management University will hold a virtual conference on 23 to 24 June 2022. The theme of the conference is Conflicts of Jurisdiction. The conference is designed to assist with the ongoing work of the Hague Conference on Private International Law (HCCH) on Jurisdiction. The speakers are leading private international law scholars and experts, many of whom are directly involved in the ongoing negotiations at the HCCH. Registration to attend the conference will open nearer the time.

The biennial Journal of Private International Law Conference has been delayed until 2023 in order to enable it to take place in person at the Singapore Management University. This conference will be based on a call for papers. We will announce further details in due course.

 

Conference on Conflicts of Jurisdiction

23-24 June 2022

Organised by the Journal of Private International Law and the Singapore Management University

(SGT=Singapore Time; BST=British Summer Time)

 

Day 1

Session 1 Thursday 23 June 2022 – The Common Law Approaches to Conflicts of Jurisdiction

Chair: Professor Jonathan Harris (QC) (King’s College London)

Time Speaker Topic
18.00-18.05 SGT

11.00-11.05 BST

Professor Jonathan Harris (QC) (King’s College London) Welcome by Chair
18.05-18.10 SGT

11.05-11.10 BST

Dean of Yong Pung How School of Law, Singapore Management University Opening comments
18.10-18.35 SGT

11.10-11.35 BST

Professor Campbell McLachlan QC (Victoria University, New Zealand) Overview of some key issues in relation to conflicts of jurisdiction
18.35-19.00 SGT

11.35-12.00 BST

Dr Ardavan Arzandeh (National University of Singapore) The Scottish, English and Singapore approach of forum non conveniens in conflicts of jurisdiction cases
19.00-19.25 SGT

12.00-12.25 BST

Professor Ronald Brand (University of Pittsburgh) The US approach to forum non conveniens in conflicts of jurisdiction cases
19.25-19.50 SGT

12.25-12.50 BST

Professor Mary Keyes (Griffith University) The Australian approach to forum non conveniens in conflicts of jurisdiction cases
19.50-20.05 SGT

12.50-13.05 BST

Q&A
20.05-20.20 SGT

13.05-13.20 BST

Break

 

Session 2 Thursday 23 June 2022 – Civilian Approaches to Conflicts of Jurisdiction

Chair: Professor Kei Takeshita (Hitotsubashi University and Chair of the HCCH Working Group on Jurisdiction)

Time Speaker Topic
20.20-20.25 SGT

13.20-13.25 BST

Professor Kei Takeshita (Hitotsubashi University and Chair of the HCCH Working Group on Jurisdiction) Welcome by Chair
20.25-20.50 SGT

13.25-13.50 BST

Professor Tanja Domej (University of Zurich) The EU and Lugano Convention approaches to conflicts of jurisdiction for internal cases (ie within the EU or between Contracting States to the Lugano Convention)
20.50-21.15 SGT

13.50-14.15 BST

Professor Geert Van Calster (KU Leuven) The EU approach to conflicts of jurisdiction with non-EU and Lugano States (Articles 33 and 34 of Brussels Ia Regulation)

 

21.15-21.40 SGT

14.15-14.40 BST

Professors Nadia De Araujo and Marcelo De Nardi (Brazil) Latin American approaches to conflicts of jurisdiction in international cases

 

21.40-22.05 SGT

14.40-15.05 BST

Professor Zheng (Sophia) Tang (University of Wuhan and Newcastle University) Chinese and some other civilian approaches in Asia to conflicts of jurisdiction

 

22.05-22.20 SGT

15.05-15.20 BST

Q&A

 

Day 2

Session 3 Friday 24 June 2022 – Work at the Hague Conference on Private International Law on Conflicts of Jurisdiction

Chair: Professor Paul Beaumont (University of Stirling) 

Time Speaker Topic
18.00-18.05 SGT

11.00-11.05 BST

Professor Paul Beaumont (University of Stirling) Welcome by Chair
18.05-18.30 SGT

11.05-11.30 BST

Professor Fausto Pocar (University of Milan) The work on the Judgments Project in the Hague in the 1990s culminating in the interim text of 2001
18.30-18.55 SGT

11.30-11.55 BST

Professor David McClean (University of Sheffield) Lessons from family law notably the provisions on conflicts of jurisdiction including transfers of jurisdiction in the Child Protection Convention 1996
18.55-19.20 SGT

11.55-12.20 BST

Dr João Ribeiro-Bidaoui (First Secretary, HCCH) The revived Jurisdiction Project in the Hague – from Experts’ Group to Working Group – possible solutions on conflicts of jurisdiction
19.20-19.45 SGT

12.20-12.45 BST

Professor Matthias Lehmann (University of Vienna) Challenges and opportunities for a new binding global instrument on conflicts of jurisdiction
19.45-20.00 SGT

12.45-13.00 BST

Q&A
20.00-20.15 SGT

13.00-13.15 BST

Break

 

Session 4 Friday 24 June 2022 – Work at the Hague Conference on Private International Law on Conflicts of Jurisdiction (continued)

Chair: Dr Adeline Chong (Singapore Management University)

Time Speaker Topic
20.15-20.20 SGT

13.15-13.20 BST

Dr Adeline Chong (Singapore Management University) Welcome by Chair
20.20-20.45 SGT

13.20-13.45 BST

Professor Trevor Hartley (London School of Economics) Balancing forum non conveniens and lis pendens (same parties and same subject matter) in a new global instrument on conflicts of jurisdiction
20.45-21.10 SGT

13.45-14.10 BST

Professor Yeo Tiong Min (Singapore Management University) Dealing with related actions in a new global instrument on conflicts of jurisdiction
21.10-21.35 SGT

14.10-14.35 BST

Professor Franco Ferrari (NYU) Conflicts between courts and arbitration in international cases and how to resolve them in a new global instrument on conflicts of jurisdiction
21.35-22.00 SGT

14.35-15.00 BST

Justice Anselmo Reyes (Singapore International Commercial Court and Doshisha University) International commercial courts’ approaches to conflicts of jurisdiction and how they fit with a new global instrument on conflicts of jurisdiction
22.00-22.15 SGT

15.00-15.15 BST

Q&A
22.15-22.20 SGT

15.15-15.20 BST

Professor Jonathan Harris, Professor Paul Beaumont, Dr Adeline Chong Closing remarks

 

 

1 reply
  1. The 355 Sebastian Stan Leather Jacket says:

    The 355 Sebastian Stan Leather Jacket is on trending and everyone wants to get this product and we know this product is being sold on various platform bus we have some special offer for you this offer is being given for Christmas with 30% discount don’t be late and grab this offer

Comments are closed.