Moving from Paris to The Hague for the PAX MOOT Finals

Thanks to Horatia Muir Watt and Hélène van Lith (Sciences Po) for this post

The PAX Moot Eliminatory Round took place last Tuesday in Paris with 8 universities mooting the cross border climate change moot case which addressed a number of complex transnational legal questions in Private International Law and was generously hosted by the ICC (see also our previous post).

The four winning teams that made it to the finals are:

- Erasmus University Rotterdam
- University of Heidelberg
- Paris I Sorbonne
- Sciences Po.

The Panel of the PAX Moot Court Judges consisted of the following members:

- Hans van Loon Former Secretary General of the HCCH (The Hague)
- Agnès Maitrepierre Cour de cassation (Paris)
- Daan Lunsingh Scheurleer –Nauta Dutilh (Amsterdam)/ Christine Lecuyer-Thieffry (Paris)
- Clément Dupoirier Herbert Smith Freehills (Paris)
- Patrick Thieffry Environmental Lawyer and Associate Professor. (Paris)
- Alexis Foucard Clifford Chance (Paris)
- Michal Chajdukowski and Vasili Rotaru (PAX moot winning team 2017)

The PAX Moot Finals will be held on 1 June at the Peace Palace – hence the name – in The Hague, paying tribute to the city as the "legal capital of the world" and home of The Hague Conference of Private International Law, which also marks its 125th anniversary.

The winning Mooters and best pleaders will be rewarded with an internship at international commercial litigation departments of renowned law firms Nauta Dutilh in Amsterdam and Herbert Smith in Paris.

The concept and goal of the PAX Moot is to study and apply private international

law for the resolution of cross border disputes through a concrete problem "the Case" and to train law students and practitioners of tomorrow in arguing and analysing complex global legal questions in international litigation.

The inter-university PAX Moot organized by Sciences Po Law School is a pleading competition addressing issues of Private International Law and this year's 6th edition has gone global to include teams from universities in Europe and beyond. The organizers thank the following institutions for their support and willingness to open the competition to their students: Sorbonne University Paris I, London School of Economics, HEC, Heidelberg University, Luxembourg University, Cambridge University, University College London (UCL), King's College London, University of Antwerp, Erasmus University, Université Libre de Bruxelles (ULB), Sciences Po Law School and Statale University of Milan. Participation was also open to US exchange students from Harvard, Columbia, Duke, Northwestern, Northeastern, Duke and Penn law schools.

Inquiries can be addressed to Dr. Hélène van Lith by email at helene.vanlith@sciencespo.fr