Hague Prize Awarded to Paul Lagarde

The Hague Conference has announced that the Hague Prize for International Law 2011 will be awarded to Professor Paul Lagarde "in view of [his] outstanding contribution to the study and promotion of private international law".

The **Hague Prize for International Law 2011** will be awarded to Professor Paul Lagarde, expert, delegate, chairman and reporter for the Hague Conference, "in view of [his] outstanding contribution to the study and promotion of private international law".

This prestigious prize was established in 2002 by the municipality of The Hague and is awarded by an independent foundation, the Hague Prize Foundation, "to physical persons and/or legal persons who – through publications or achievements in the practice of law – have made a special contribution to the development of public international law and/or private international law or to the advancement of the rule of law in the world". The prize consists of a medal of honour, a certificate and a monetary amount of \notin 50,000.

The first recipient of the prize was Professor Shabtai Rosenne (2004), Professor M. Cherif Bassiouni received the prize in 2007 and in 2009 the prize was awarded to Dame Rosalyn Higgins.

The ceremony will take place on 21 September 2011 at the Peace Palace in The Hague.

Paul Lagarde taught at the university of Paris I (Panthéon-Sorbonne) from 1971 to 2001. He is the co-author of a leading treaty of French private international law (with Henri Batiffol).