2007 Lugano Convention in Force

The 2007 Lugano Convention on jurisdiction and the recognition and enforcement of judgments in civil and commercial matters entered into force between the Member States of the European Union (including Danemark) and Norway on January 1st, 2010.

Article 69(4) of the new Lugano Convention provides:

The Convention shall enter into force on the first day of the sixth month following the date on which the European Community and a Member of the European Free Trade Association deposit their instruments of ratification.

The report of the Council of the European Union can be found here

The Convention still does not apply with respect to other contracting states of EFTA, namely Switzerland and Island. It will on the first day of the third month following the deposit of their instrument of ratification (art. 69(5)), and eventually replace the 1988 Lugano Convention.

Thanks to Rafaël Jafferali for the tipp-off